TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,029 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

Lian Li PC-X1000 Super Tower Chassis - The Lian Li PC-X1000 Super Tower Case

We are graced with another of Lian Li's latest and greatest chassis' to hit the labs, the PC-X1000. Expectations are high; let's see if it delivers.

| Super-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 16, 2009 3:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Lian Li

The Lian Li PC-X1000 Super Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_05.jpg

 

Removing the foam and plastic bag reveals what I am used to in a Lian Li chassis, tons of sexy brushed aluminum. This time there is no window with the PC-X1000, but depending on where this chassis is placed, there really is no need. For daily use I have it sitting on the floor, and cannot see inside it if it had a window anyways.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_06.jpg

 

The front panel houses the three 5.25" bays, the bottom of which converts to house a floppy drive if desired. The top two have "stealthed" drive covers, while the bottom drive does not. Below these, there is the vented section of the panel that allows the three, 140mm, front fans to get all the cool air they need to supply the interior. At the very bottom you will find the bright silver name plate.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_07.jpg

 

You can see, just as I mentioned, the side panels are one huge solid slab of aluminum to close things off. These are full panels and the edges of the panel are on the exterior of the chassis and can be seen from the front, top and rear of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_08.jpg

 

The rear of the PC-X1000 has a lot of things to show off. At the top there are the door panel releases on either side of the top 140mm fan. Just to the left of this fan is the "hidden switch" for fan control (I will show this more in depth a bit later). Moving down, there is another 140mm fan next to the rear I/O panel. Just under this fan Lian Li placed the water cooling pass through for tubing if you plan to use an external radiator for cooling. Moving down a bit more, we see eight vented expansion slots next to a vented area in the chassis. All the way at the bottom is where the PSU is housed, and has a removable plate you can mount to the PSU, then slide it in through this side and attach the plate back to the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_09.jpg

 

At the top, very close to the front of the PC-X1000 is a hideaway door for the front I/O ports. Lifting the door exposes one e-SATA, one IEEE 1394 (Firewire), and four USB 2.0 ports. At the right side, Lian Li placed the headphone and microphone 3.5mm jacks. Not only does the door of the I/O give a clean look when closed, it will also keep dust out of the ports when not in use. Flanking the right side of the door is the larger power and smaller reset buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_10.jpg

 

As we look at the bottom of the PC-X1000, we can see even here Lian Li cuts no corners. Full black brushed aluminum is used here, too. The feet are made of all black plastic with rubber feet that get screwed into place. Between the left two feet is the vented area for the power supply to draw air if used in the fan-down position. Lian Li also includes a snap-in dust filter to keep things clean inside the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3066_11.jpg

 

At the top of the rear of the chassis, you will find two thumb screws. These are attached to a slide bar mechanism, and once unscrewed and pulled out gently, the door panels almost fall from the top and allow you to remove them.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases