TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,568 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

Noctua NH-D14 140mm CPU Cooler - The Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler

Noctua scales things up and offers extremists and ordinary users alike both silence and performance. Let's see how it holds up to our T.E.C.C. today.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 4, 2009 1:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Noctua

The Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_08.jpg

 

Once I got it out of the foam and set the boxes aside, this is what I found. One sexy piece of kit in my opinion! I will just let you soak this in and get into detail later.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_09.jpg

 

From the side we can see how well both fans cover the massive sets of fins from top to bottom. The 140mm in the middle actually sits proud of the cooler a bit on all four sides. Both fans are wired separately, but Noctua takes care of you, as I will show in the hardware section.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_10.jpg

 

This angle gives you a better idea of how it all works. A 120mm fan in the front of a "saw-toothed" fin that surrounds one end of the six heat pipes. Then a NH-P14 takes over and sucks in a bit of fresh air from the sides, as well as reusing the 120mm fans flow to cool a second, similar set of fins that house the other end of the heat pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_11.jpg

 

From this side, if connected, you would be getting blasted by air. The rear of the fins is "saw-toothed" just like the other sides, and if you chose to, you could add a third fan here as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_12.jpg

 

Noctua proudly stamps their name on these almost 60mm deep fins. There is no doubt of the design of the "saw-tooth" look I was referring to. This design helps agitate the air, while spacing the fan correctly from the fins for superior airflow.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_13.jpg

 

Removing the fans allows me to explain a few other things that really benefit this cooler. The total amount of surface area doesn't hurt it, first off. Beyond that, the centred placement of the heat pipes allows for the main flow of the fan to cool the pipes and the fins very efficiently. Something new to me here is the addition of the Teflon strips pressed into grooves in the fins. These should do a great job of isolating any fan vibrations or chatter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_14.jpg

 

This is the view you will have during installation. The 140mm fan does need to be removed to allow mounting to any of the approved sockets.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_15.jpg

 

Moving down to the correct level, the mounting plate that is on the cooler stays there. There is nothing to change as far as the mounting on this end. These two screws with spring tension are used with all of the mounting types and configurations.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_16.jpg

 

The top plate on the base is under mounted to give it a clean finished look. Inside those four screws there is the mating surface. As with all Noctua coolers, it uses a milled copper base, this time in nickel plating, just like the heat pipes which this cooler sports six of.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3045_17.jpg

 

Here is a close look at the new NH-P14. This fan is 1400mm and as I mentioned is rated both higher in CFM than the 120mm, but does it with less noise. An added feature; it's the round cage, this allows Noctua to offer a bigger fan that installs with the usual 120mm fan spacing.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases