TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,425 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

AXUS FiT 500E Five-Bay RAID DAS Server - The AXUS FiT 500E

After testing the Promise DS4600, we had several requests to review other DAS servers. AXUS FiT 500E, come on down!

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Nov 20, 2009 8:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: AXUS Microsystems

The AXUS FiT 500E

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_08.jpg

 

The system ships with the drive bays removed, so we took the opportunity to show the system bare.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_09.jpg

 

Here we see the drives installed. At the top a control panel allows the user to easily view the system status and set the RAID modes at startup. I configured the system for the first time with just the front display and can tell you that it is easier to navigate than the Thecus and QNAP front displays.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_10.jpg

 

The side of the system is solid, but gets the job done.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_11.jpg

 

The FiT 500E ships without the rear fan connected to the system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_12.jpg

 

Here we see the fan installed. This adds around an inch to the overall length to the system, but it is quite small to begin with so it is not an issue.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_13.jpg

 

The eSATA and USB ports are on the back, as is a rotary switch that makes setup quite easy. You can set the RAID level with the switch or set it to GUI which allows you to adjust the array via the host software or the front panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_14.jpg

 

I was quite surprised to see that the FiT 500 doesn't have any ventilation on the sides of the DAS at all. That means that all of the incoming air passes over the drives.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3011_15.jpg

 

The accessories package for the FiT 500 is quite impressive. Every cable needed is included with the system including the eSATA cable and bracket. AXUS has also included a compatibility list which shows the hardware they have tested. The software CD includes all of the manuals and the host PC software that makes setting the system up much easier.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases