TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,998 Reviews & Articles | 38,721 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Antec Mini Skeleton-90 Open Air Mini-ITX Case - The Build and Finished Product

We've looked at the original. Now let's delve into the Mini Skeleton-90 from Antec and see if there has been any improvements made along the way.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 3, 2009 1:34 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: Antec

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_20.jpg

 

Using my usual mITX components, only this time a 35W Celeron is my processor of choice, I was able to get everything in pretty easily. Even with connections for the front I/O components needing to be plugged in at the opposite end of the board, there is sufficient length in the wires to get the job done.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_22.jpg

 

Once the tray was returned to its locked position and the thumbscrew replaced, all that is left is placing the optical drive of choice to the left and up to two 2.5" drives to the right. I don't currently own any 2.5" drives but I still have a trick up my sleeve to test the performance.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_23.jpg

 

As I'm showing here, the trays can be simply hung on the sides to add more drive space. A little bit harder to see, is the room above the CPU cooler. I used a low profile cooler from SilverStone, but I seriously can't see much more than stock or stock-like coolers being able to fit.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_24.jpg

 

There is a bit of an easier look at the cooler height from this angle. I would have liked a bit more room. Everything looks clean with the completed install, even when you have to wire the 4-pin CPU power cable around the back as I did. I found plenty of length to all the power leads to get everything I needed connected done so with no fighting.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_25.jpg

 

One last side shot, this time the opposing side, all buttoned up and in proper form.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_26.jpg

 

Booting up for the first time, the fan was already set to high. I was slightly surprised by the lack of a hum coming from this fan. I would have expected this fan to be louder than what I actually was hearing. Once I set the CPU fan all the way up in BIOS, the two sort of blended at the same resonance, which made it hard to tell which was actually louder.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_27.jpg

 

And of course I had to get one in action with the LED turned on!

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases