TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,099 Reviews & Articles | 39,138 News Posts

Antec Mini Skeleton-90 Open Air Mini-ITX Case - The Antec Mini skeleton-90 Open Air Case

We've looked at the original. Now let's delve into the Mini Skeleton-90 from Antec and see if there has been any improvements made along the way.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 3, 2009 1:34 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: Antec

The Antec Mini Skeleton Open Air Case

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_06.jpg

 

At first glance there doesn't seem to be much change to the Mini Skeleton-90. Look a little closer and things start to pop out. Fewer components in the front I/O and less room for drives are the main things that had to change in shrinking down the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_07.jpg

 

Keeping in line with the original, the Mini shares all the ease of access to the sides as well. These drop down panels will allow you to mount drives if you feel it is necessary.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_08.jpg

 

The rear of the Mini has a couple of things to note. No clear plastic graphics card support is what I noticed first. Near the bottom, to the left, is where the power adapter gets plugged in. To the right is where Antec mounted the 70mm rear exhaust fan. This fan will draw air to cool both drives and the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_09.jpg

 

Same as with the other side; the vented, bottom half drops out of the way for access as well. Once the panels are removed, you can mount SSD's with the trays I will show you later, here as well.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_10.jpg

 

Looking into the belly of the beast, we see the 150mm blue LED fan that cools by pulling in outside air and blowing it down onto your components. One thing I do like about the Mini over the original is that they backed the underside of the fan with grill material as well. With the limited room, this keeps fingers safe while tinkering inside the Mini Skeleton-90.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_11.jpg

 

As I mentioned in the specs page, this is a TriCool fan on top of the Mini. Located to the left side near the front of the fan, you will locate the switches. The white switch is to turn the blue LED's on or off during operation. The three position switch is for the three "TriCool" levels of the fan.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_12.jpg

 

Front I/O wiring is typical. You get an HDD activity, reset and power connection. Somehow the power lead eluded me in this image, but I promise you it is there. The USB 2.0 and HD or AC'97 audio connections finish up the included wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2992_13.jpg

 

Simply removing one thumbscrew from the rear of the floor of the chassis, the motherboard tray and component shelves slide out for easier installation.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases