TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,910 Reviews & Articles | 38,056 News Posts

Corsair Dominator GT (Blue) 8GB DDR3 1600 Kit for Lynnfield - The Package, Modules & Cooler

Lynnfield is out and all the latest peripherals are hitting the shelves. We take a look at the 8GB DDR3 1600 Kit from Corsair today.

| DDR-3 Memory in RAM | Posted: Sep 30, 2009 9:39 am
TweakTown Rating: 74%      Manufacturer: Corsair

The Package

 

We did not have the full retail packaging so unfortunately we cannot comment on how it is laid out or how well it would protect the Dominator or fan that we were sent.

 

Each of the modules sent to us arrived in a plastic clamshell that did a good job of protecting them from shipping damage.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_01.jpg

 

The Modules

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_02.jpg

 

The actual Dominator GT modules are interesting looking. They are bulky and quite weighty for RAM, but all of that is in the name of cooling. The outer shell is ridged and thick to allow for efficient transfer of heat from the actual chips to the sink.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_03.jpg

 

On top of each is a row of short and thick fins. These do a good job of maintaining a stable operating temperature and add a bit of flare with their "Intel" blue coloring.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_04.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_30.jpg

 

The Dominator GTs that we received are labeled as 1600MHz and having timings of 8-8-8-24. The operating voltage at 1600MHz is 1.65v These samples are also labeled as Version 3.1 This means that they do not have the Elpida chips that caused so much of a headache before. All of the 3.X series have Micron chips under the spreaders which should give a decent and stable overclock.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_05.jpg

 

According to few sources the 3.1 will not clock as high as the 3.2 (which can reach as high as 1900MHz) so we are expecting around 1800MHz stable once we get them on the bench.

 

The Cooler

 

Corsair also included a cooling fan intended to make sure that your RAM keeps cool at high overclocks. This is also a very industrial looking item with large visible bolts, two fans and a blocky design.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_06.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_08.jpg

 

There is a down side (well, more than one) to using this cooler, though. The first problem has to do with the way most boards are laid out. If you are using any kind of high performance tower cooler you are not going to be able to place the fan over the RAM properly. Of course, this is true with almost all of the coolers out there including the one from Kingston.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_32.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2944_31.jpg

 

The second is that the Corsair cooler is simply loud. As the fans are small and high speed they make a high pitched sound that can get quite annoying. This is one cooler that would certainly benefit from a fan controller.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more RAM content at our RAM reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases