TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,134 Reviews & Articles | 39,394 News Posts

LanCool Dragon Lord PC-K62 Advanced Mid Tower Case - The Build and Finished Product

There is a new addition to the Dragon Lord series. LanCool sends us a chassis with budget builders in mind and delivers the PC-K62 mid tower chassis.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 24, 2009 4:47 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: LanCool

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_20.jpg

 

Everything pretty much falls into place when building inside the PC-K62. With a full ATX motherboard, there is still plenty of room to work inside this chassis. I was able to install my 9800GTX with room to spare, which means it will accept most of the larger graphics cards.

 

I did set the PSU in with the fan down to try out the locking bar, which is easy to use and does a nice job locking down the PSU. I had to flip it though for the build as this PSU has shorter wires and having them come out of the PSU closer to the motherboard makes it possible to use, versus missing them by mere inches.

 

Lastly, I want to note that this PSU has a ton of extra leads and not being modular can sometimes lead to issues. I found plenty of room to stash the extra leads inside the chassis. Even though they can be seen, it allows for a much cleaner overall look.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_21.jpg

 

Other than the fact that my PSU isn't black, even the rear of the chassis looks good and is easy to access. Nothing out of the ordinary to note here!

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_22.jpg

 

Just before I closed up shop and powered this PC-K62 up for the pretty images about to come, I figured I'd show what I meant about hiding excessive wiring. What could have looked like a rats nest laying on the floor of this chassis, is easily bundled and slid under and into unused drive bay space. It may look a bit messy from here, but put the panel back on and no one is the wiser.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_23.jpg

 

Virtually an unimpeded view of the components is what I mentioned earlier. With all the pieces in place and the windowed panel back on, you can see you get just that. Personally I like that this window isn't square, but I'm not a fan of this "dog bone" design. But hey, at least it has a window!

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_24.jpg

 

With the lights dimmed down and the power switch pushed, you can see not only the blue glow of the intake fans LED's, but there is even a flood from the top fans that comes through above the optical drive.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_25.jpg

 

Spinning the PC-K62 around so I could look into the louvers, there I found the glow of the dual 140mm top exhaust fans. The rear exhaust fan, as you can see, has no LED's, but the fan up installation of my PSU adds more of the same blue flood of light.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2935_26.jpg

 

See what I mean? Turning the chassis around one more time shows that flood I was talking about. Quite a soothing look with all the components in place! It's even enough blue LED to hide the ugliness of the red Foxconn motherboard.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases