TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,095 News Posts

Active Media Products Executive I 2-in-1 Carbon Fiber Pen - Active Media Products Executive I

Everyone in business needs a nice pen and a USB drive - why not merge them? Read on!

| Accessories in Peripherals | Posted: Sep 11, 2009 5:20 am
TweakTown Rating: 80%      Manufacturer: Active Media Products

Active Media Products Executive I

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_03.jpg

 

The packaging is done in flat black and is void of writing. I was kind of expecting a box that is a little more presentable, but let's face it, for 17 USD you are not going to get a wooden box with a leather wrap.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_04.jpg

 

The pen just rests inside of the box, no silk or felt, just cardboard.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_05.jpg

 

Here we get our first good look at the writing instrument. The body type is wide with a chrome top, carbon fiber barrel and a steel clip.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_06.jpg

 

The top unscrews to reveal the 4GB USB thumb drive and a twist of the tip reveals the writing portion of the pen.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_07.jpg

 

Here we see everything disassembled. The ink container is quite small, but it is a standard size making replacement easy.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_08.jpg

 

The carbon fiber is average quality with a thick layer of epoxy on the outer surface. It appears to be a wet lay so it is not like what you would find on an exotic R Series Ducati. Still it is carbon fiber and for 15 dollars you are not going to get something that has sat in an autoclave for 24 hours.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_09.jpg

 

For a size comparison here is the Executive I next to a Mont Blanc Starwalker.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2915_10.jpg

 

For an extra 400 USD you can have one with a White Mountain top that doesn't have a USB drive.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases