TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,564 News Posts

Corsair Obsidian 800D Full Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Corsair unleashes the Obsidian 800D onto the scene. Break out the ceremonial champagne and let's see if their maiden voyage is a success.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 29, 2009 6:21 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_20.jpg

 

Releasing six tabs, the front easily removes. This is needed to be done so you may have access to remove the correct bay cover for the drives you want to install. At this point I went ahead and set in the DVD burner and lock it into place.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_21.jpg

 

Gently pressing the tab releases a bar to allow the tray to be removed. Set your favorite 3.5" SATA HDD, install up to six screws and slide the tray back into place. Leave the bar in the open position and slide the tray all the way in. Then press the bar back into place until you hear the latch click. All of this can be done through the access plate in the front bezel, just open the little door and swap out a drive; simple as that.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_22.jpg

 

Even with a full ATX motherboard and a GTX 280, the case seems to dwarf the components. Like I was saying, the wiring pretty much takes care of itself. Just start them all out the back by the PSU and run them behind to where they need to go. This is bar none the cleanest build out of the box as well as the easiest. If you look closely, you can see I was even able to hide my IDE drive and ribbon cable in the lower bays. I also picked the Foxconn for the PCI-e X16 slot arrangement. You get a real feel for how the 7+1 expansion slots will allow the bottom fan to breathe correctly.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_23.jpg

 

The supplied wires from Corsair make really short clean work of getting all this connected. The 90 degree SATA wires and the inline SATA power connection make sure of that.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_24.jpg

 

Once you get things all wired up, just simply slide the supplied plastic covering over the fan and wiring and you are left with everything out of sight and out of mind.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_25.jpg

 

As I say, when you go to slide in the PSU, first route all the wiring out the provided grommet. This cleanly gets all the wiring out of sight until they make a re-appearance for the appropriate connection on your motherboard. I misplaced the 8-pin extension shortly after the build started, so I had to sneak the 8-pin through the CPU back plate access door, which should be back in place at this time. Even with the big groupings of wires tied together, there is plenty of room to get the panel back on.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_26.jpg

 

Getting all the panels back on was easy enough, so I went right to adding power and booting the build. The Corsair Obsidian has a white LED power indicator and a white HDD activity LED. This is the only lighting of the 800D chassis, yet again another sleek and elegant touch.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_27.jpg

 

Really, when was the last time you saw the rear of a completed chassis look so nice? I don't know why but I feel this is the most finished looking rear image I have seen of a chassis, even though you will likely never see it, Corsair keeps the bar set high on all sides, in and out.

 

TweakTown image content/2/8/2897_28.jpg

 

Looking through the window again, this time with the inner coating removed and all the hardware in place, things look a lot clearer. In my opinion the window is nice. Not the typical all square shape of most, and does a great job of highlighting the major components while hiding the more mundane.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases