TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

No, Apple has not installed Bitcoin mining software into its devices

New quickly spreading rumor about Bitcoin mining is causing Apple users to brick their Mac devices (NASDAQ:AAPL)

| Current Affairs News | Posted: Dec 16, 2013 3:00 pm

Rumors about secret hidden software in tech devices are as old as tech itself, and since the beginning of personal computing people have been devising clever ways to trick others into formatting their machines. Unfortunately, a new rumor has popped up that has tricked Mac owners into doing just that.

 

TweakTown image news/3/4/34379_1_no_apple_has_not_installed_bitcoin_mining_software_into_its_devices.jpg

 

A new infographic is spreading like wildfire around the internet that claims that Apple has been installing Bitcoin mining software into their Mac devices since 2009. The infographic informs users that they can unlock this feature by opening up the terminal and entering the command "sudo rm -rf/*" Unfortunately, this command does not unlock any hidden programs, apps, or features, but actually tells the users Mac to format itself, which causes a loss of all data, and a bricked device.

 

Apple or Linux gurus who are use to the terminal will instantly know what this command means, but for those who have no clue, let me break it down for you.

 

  • sudo - Gives permission to execute the following string of commands.
  • rm - Remove :This will remove any file specified in the system.
  • -rf - recursive and force : This will remove all files and folders inside the specified directory.
  • / - this specifies the root directory
  • * - this is a wildcard, and ensures that all directories in the root are also selected.

 

So basically this command tells the Mac to delete all files contained in the root directory. Since everything is contained within the root directory, every piece of data on the device will be deleted. If this is not clear enough, I will simplify things by saying: DO NOT RUN THIS COMMAND UNLESS YOU WANT TO LOSE ALL OF THE DATA ON YOUR MAC!

NEWS SOURCES:Gizmodo.com

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Current Affairs news at our Current Affairs news index page.

Do you get our news RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this news? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases