Facebook has rolled out the new Trusted Friends feature. Trusted Friends allows a Facebook user to set various friends as trusted contacts to aid in recovering a Facebook account. Should you forget your log in or need emergency access, these trusted friends will be able to lend a helping hand.
The feature is much the same as you might do with your house keys. Many people give neighbors house keys when on vacation or just to keep in case they lose their keys or have an emergency. The system will send security codes to each trusted contact who will then need to provide the code to you.
You'll apparently need the security codes from each friend, which should help prevent a single trusted contact from gaining access to your account.