Snapchat, the messaging app that lets you send self destructing messages to friends and family is widely popular. Mainly because users feel safe that the image or video that is sent can not be saved and is only viewable once.
It appears that that sense of safety can no longer be trusted. A website known as buzzfeed has released details on how to circumvent the self destructing feature and save the messages before you view them.
It turns out, all one needs is a file manager for their device or one can simply connect it to a computer and browse to the temporary folder where the message is stored on the phone or tablet. Facebook's Poke seems to have similar security issues but is reportedly working on a fix.