TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,921 Reviews & Articles | 38,152 News Posts

Facebook begins actually deleting photos, will not allow photos to sit in content networks for longer than 30 days

Facebook will keep your deleted photos in their content network for 30 days, instead of keeping them

| Social Networking News | Posted: Aug 17, 2012 1:25 am

Facebook have, for years now, not really been deleting your photos. Yes, they may not be on your profile (or Timeline) but they would be enjoying some cocktails somewhere in the social networking sites content network for months, if not years.

 

TweakTown image news/2/5/25342_02_facebook_begins_actually_deleting_photos_will_not_allow_photos_to_sit_in_content_networks_for_longer_than_30_days.jpg

 

Ars Technica, after some experiments, have reported that this problem should now be over. Instead of the months-long photo storage system migration and now an updated deletion policy, Facebook will now only let photos stay on their content network stream for no more than 30 days.

 

After this, they're deleted, permanently. This is an improved reaction speed, at 30 days, but still isn't as good as a 'click, delete, gone' method such as other photo-sharing services. I supposed you can't really complain, it's better than them changing your news feed look, again.

NEWS SOURCE
Engadget.com

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Social Networking news at our Social Networking news index page.

Do you get our news RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this news

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases