Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,729 Reviews & Articles | 46,209 News Posts

Snapchat auto-deletes sent pictures after viewing for a set time

Snapchat automatically deletes pictures a set time after they are opened by recipient.
| Apps News | Posted: May 8, 2012 4:29 pm

Sending risque photos of yourself is pretty risky. Once the data that comprises that picture leaves your phone to another's, it can exist, be copied, or shared indefinitely. But what if you really want to send that picture of yourself in that tiny bikini to your boyfriend? Well, that's where Snapchat comes into play.




Snapchat facilitates the prevention of photos remaining on other people's devices after sending them. The person who sends the picture can choose how long the other person can view the image for after it is opened. The sender can choose anywhere from 1 to 10 seconds. After the time is up, the app deletes the data.


This isn't fully fool proof. The recipient could take a screen shot, but the app will notify the sender if this occurs. The recipient could also take a picture of the phone with a camera so that the app doesn't notify the sender. If a receiver goes this direction, however, there is a bit of quality loss. However, it is likely to aid in preventing some unwanted saving and sharing.


Related Tags

Got an opinion on this news? Post a comment below!
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases