Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
7,296 Reviews & Articles | 53,206 News Posts

Mazda CX-9 Azami 2016 2.5T AWD: Vehicle Tech Review

By: Cameron Wilmot | Vehicles | Posted: Nov 14, 2016 6:27 am

Styling - KODO rocking it

 

As far as I'm concerned, Mazda is totally on point when it comes to the design. KODO, Mazda's design philosophy, shows its true colors, in an amazing way. The sophisticated yet tough front, and elegant and stylish rear end may take you some time (seconds?) to get used to and a liking to, but when it gets you, it gets you good - as least, it was that way for me.

 

I've included some photos below to showcase some of the design aspects of the new CX-9 Azami:

 

mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review
mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review

 

 

What I don't like about the car

 

Remembering I bought this car, and it wasn't supplied by Mazda for this review, it shouldn't come as a surprise that there's not much I don't like about the new CX-9. It addressed all the issues I had with the 2014 model and added so much more.

 

mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review

 

After I've owned the car longer, things may pop up, but I had to try and dig for things I don't like about it. One thing that is a bit of a concern is the view through the rear-view mirror to the back of the car. With two child seats in the back, your view at the back is minimal. It's enough to see, but I would have preferred a fuller view. Now, you might say, with all the technology in the car, who needs that view, but it's still something to consider.

 

mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-reviewmazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review

 

Pointed out to me in another review, it made mention of the stitching on the seats. I can confirm too in my 2016 CX-9 that the stitching is not as tightly stitched as it could be. The review I read made this out to be a pretty big deal; I put it down as being minor.

 

My wife and I both mentioned to each other that we would have liked for the MZD Connect to recess itself when turning off the car. But yeah, at this stage, I'm just trying to list out any issues - and as you've seen, they aren't big issues, and definitely not deal breakers.

 

 

Final Thoughts

 

For a normal TweakTown review, we end things with a rating for each applicable section, but being new to this game, I've decided against that. I don't think I'm qualified enough to make a solid enough call on leaving ratings for the 2016 CX-9 or other cars at this early stage of taking on car tech reviews.

 

 

However, I can say that I'm very happy with my purchase of the 2016 Mazda CX-9 Azami AWD. It's a beasty-looking vehicle with plenty enough performance for me. It's chocked full of awesome technology. About the only thing it is missing is the ability for it to park itself or drive itself.

 

On that latter comment, I'm sure that is something Mazda is working on very closely. Obviously, I don't know exactly what they are doing behind closed doors roads, but as far as I'm concerned, and from what I've experienced with this car, they couldn't be too far away from creating a driverless car. This car is part way there in what it can do, and that excites me greatly.

 

I also have to wonder, what is Mazda going to do in the new model? I addressed a few issues with the car, but it's already brilliant as far as I'm concerned.

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts
View Our Latest Videos

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
loading