Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
7,296 Reviews & Articles | 53,208 News Posts

Mazda CX-9 Azami 2016 2.5T AWD: Vehicle Tech Review

Mazda CX-9 Azami 2016 2.5T AWD: Vehicle Tech Review
Mazda's CX-9 Azami 2016 2.5T AWD is not only a sight to behold, but it comes packed to the brim with impressive technology. Let's take a close look.
By: Cameron Wilmot | Vehicles | Posted: Nov 14, 2016 6:27 am

Out with the old and in with the new

 

mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review_1

 

So, just three days ago, I picked up my brand new CX-9 Azami 2016 2.5T AWD from the local Mazda dealership in my state of Queensland in Australia. I could finish review right here by saying I absolutely love it. But, we aren't here for a few words, I'm here to deliver you a technology review of one of Mazda's newest vehicles to leave the shipping docks of Japan.

 

So, before we start, a little about me. I've been heavily focused and invested in technology for around 20 years now, ever since I started TweakTown. I love all things computers and technology, in an obsessive kind of way. That's one reason the new 2016 CX-9 impresses me so much; it is packed to the brim with amazing tech. Not long after picking up the car, I thought about the potential of bringing car reviews to TweakTown. I'll be straight and tell you, I don't know exactly how is this idea will pan out, but we'll give it a go - and that's why we're here now.

 

 

But, you've come to the wrong place if you are expecting a full-fledged car review - that's not what I'm offering here, and it's not what we're trying to provide either. There are loads of brilliant car review websites you can visit who offer comprehensive writeups, but we're just going to focus on the technology side of vehicles. I also understand that technology nowadays makes up a big part of what the overall car is, so inherently there will be some crossover, but it won't be on purpose. I'm not experienced enough to provide accurate numbers on things like riding handling, 0-60/100 times, or fuel consumption - at least we haven't explored those avenues yet.

 

mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review_26

 

I'll happily admit that I'm no car expert. I love them, can drive them with average to upper-level skill (I'd say), but I'm not the type of guy you'll find tinkering with engines or such in the garage on the weekend. What interests me and what I have a sound knowledge of is technology. Some brief car ownership details for me I think should be listed out as I believe past driving experiences shape your opinion of current driving experiences. My first car was a Holden (GM) Commodore VT V6, the second was a Honda CR-V AWD, the third was a 2014 Mazda CX-9 Grand Touring AWD, and of course, finally, we have the new 2016 CX-9, which is why we're here today.

 

mazda-cx-9-azami-2016-2-5t-awd-vehicle-tech-review_48

 

The new 2016 CX-9 is, without a doubt, out with the old and in with the new. Even as a new owner, I can tell you straight up that the 2014 CX-9 was 'informational,' and new 2016 CX-9 is 'functional.' By that, I mean that the old CX-9 was great at presenting alerts and information to the driver, but it didn't act on any of it - it was up to the driver to respond accordingly. I liked the old CX-9 a lot, but I didn't love it. That's not to say it was a bad car, to the contrary, it was great, but it had one major flaw, being its excessive fuel consumption, and lack of some features which I firm believe should have been there, namely: push button start and heads-up display.

 

But the new CX-9 doesn't just remedy my concerns with the old model; it smashes them way out of the water. The new CX-9 is not an upgrade, no, it is an entirely new car built completely fresh from the ground up to impress - and it does, massively. Read on as I cover the technology in the new 2016 CX-9. It's my first time, so wish me luck, and I hope you enjoy it.

 

Please Note: km/h to mph throughout the review are only conversions, non-Australian models may differ.

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts
View Our Latest Videos

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
loading