TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,924 Reviews & Articles | 38,171 News Posts

MDSSD TweakTown Chris Ramseyer Signature Edition by SuperSSpeed 128GB SLC SSD Review - MDSSD TweakTown Chris Ramseyer Signature Edition by SuperSSpeed SLC SSD

If you could build an SSD, what would you make? In this rare opportunity, Chris took on the role of product manager and built what he considers the best SSD on the market today.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 27, 2012 7:12 am
Manufacturer:

MDSSD TweakTown Chris Ramseyer Signature Edition by SuperSSpeed SLC SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_07_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

It really isn't fair for me to comment on this section because I played a big part of the look of the drive. Jeremy from MDD took my emails and designed the label. I think it looks great, nothing on the market is better. :-)

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_08_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

The standard SuperSSpeed label is on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_09_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

The case is aluminum all the way around and in this image you see the beveled edge that adds a nice contrast to the TweakTown blue theme.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_10_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

SuperSSpeed includes the best desktop adapter bracket on the market today, it holds two SSDs and that is the perfect number for Z77 users today now that RAID 0 TRIM works.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_11_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

I would like to see a little more room between the drives, but SandForce controllers and Intel SLC flash runs cool so you don't have to worry about overheating when in the middle of your extreme benchmark sessions.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_12_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the case we see the SF-2281, the current leading performance controller on the market today. The rest of this side is void of components other than a few small surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_13_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

In order to optimize performance and power consumption the S301 uses all eight SF-2281 channels with eight Intel 25nm SLC NAND flash chips. By using eight instead of sixteen the power draw is reduced making this a good choice for notebook use.

 

TweakTown image content/4/9/4955_50_mdssd_tweaktown_chris_ramseyer_signature_edition_by_supersspeed_128gb_slc_ssd_review.jpg

 

Intel 29F16B16NCNE1, it doesn't get any better than this. We've found this flash listed online for as high as $137 per chip in 1000 unit quantities.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases