TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,485 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Corsair Neutron Series Solid State Drives Review - LAMD or Wolf in a 7mm Package? - Corsair Neutron Series Solid State Drives

Corsair delivers two new high performance SSDs based on the silicon from Link_A_Media. Chris takes a look and compares LAMD with IMFT and Toshiba Toggle flash.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Aug 20, 2012 10:00 am
Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Neutron Series Solid State Drives

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_07_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

Our Neutron GTX isn't a retail unit, but it was tested with production hardware and firmware. The front cover of each drive shows the capacity size, part number and serial number.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_08_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

The back of the drive is void of data, but we do see the mounting points located where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_09_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

Both Neutron models use the new 7mm Z-height which means they are good to go inside your ultrabook. You can use these drives in all adapter brackets because the side and bottom mounting points are in the same location as 2.5" form factor drives using 9 and even 14.5mm heights.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_10_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

The desktop adapter bracket offsets the drive so the power and data connectors are closer to in line with standard 3.5" HDDs. This makes for easier cable management.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_11_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

Here we see the drives without the cases. The baseline Neutron is on the left and the GTX model is on the right.

 

In the top right side corner of each drive we see a Samsung K4T1G08QF DDR2 module. The speed is stated as F7 so this is a DDR-2 800MHz chip with 1GB capacity.

 

As we mentioned, the base Neutron uses Micron 25nm synchronous flash and you can see eight chips on this side of the PCB. The Neutron GTX uses Toshiba 24nm Toggle flash, eight total though and they are all on the same side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_12_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

On the back of each drive we found another Samsung DDR2-800 chip with 1GB capacity. The GTX is void of any flash on this side of the drive, but the Neutron has an additional eight NAND flash chips for a total of 16.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_13_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

We are getting close to the launch of IMFT 20nm flash, but not in the Neutron, at least not now. This is 25nm Micron branded synchronous flash, the same found in the Corsair Force GT.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_98_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

Just a week ago we tested the Plextor M5 Pro, the first drive to use 19nm Toshiba Toggle flash, but Corsair went with 24nm Toggle for the GTX.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4897_99_corsair_neutron_series_solid_state_drives_review_lamd_or_wolf_in_a_7mm_package.jpg

 

Finally we have the Link_A_Media Devices LM87800 controller, also known as Amber.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases