TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,246 Reviews & Articles | 40,717 News Posts

MyDigitalSSD BP3 512GB SATA III Solid State Drive (Phison S8 Exclusive) Preview - MyDigitalSSD BP3 512GB

The My Digital guys strike again, this time with the first Phison SATA III controller and new Toggle Mode Flash. We present you the world exclusive right here.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 23, 2012 4:19 pm
Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

MyDigitalSSD BP3 512GB

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_03_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the new BP3 512GB model. There isn't much too look at on the outside of the drive other than the top sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_04_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

The back of our sample is void of any stickers at all. MDSSD is going for the clean and crisp look.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_05_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

All of the mounting points are located where they should be on both the side and bottom of the drive. This means you won't run into any issues installing the new BP3 in your notebook or desktop with an adapter bracket (not included).

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_06_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

The SATA power and data ports are also offset to the left side as they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_07_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

The inside is much more impressive to us. On the left side here we see the new Phison S8 controller with a Nanya DRAM buffer just under the controller. There are eight Toshiba Toggle 2 NAND flash chips that make up all 512GB of user capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_08_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

Previously we stated that a 1TB model might be in the works. This is why we think that may be an option. There are an additional eight openings for flash if the controller can use the volume.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4724_09_mydigitalssd_bp3_512gb_sata_iii_solid_state_drive_phison_s8_exclusive_preview.jpg

 

The Phison S8 gets a close up. This is the first time we've used this controller and this is also Phison's first SATA III controller.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases