Technology content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
7,598 Reviews & Articles | 56,141 News Posts

SMART Modular XceedIOPS SF-1500 Powered SAS SSD Preview

By: Chris Ramseyer | SSDs in Storage | Posted: Dec 10, 2010 11:54 am
Manufacturer: SMART Modular

The SMART Modular XceedIOPS SAS SSD

 

content/3/7/3721_03.jpg

 

Our engineering sample arrived in a brown box with an antistatic bag. The drive itself is labeled as an engineering sample, but as you can see here the case design and label is ready for the big time.

 

content/3/7/3721_04.jpg

 

Even though one side looks ready to go, on the back we see that engineering samples were still being produced as of Sept. 21st, 2010. This was just a couple weeks before the drive arrived at our office.

 

content/3/7/3721_05.jpg

 

On the side we found the standard 2.5" form factor mounting locations.

 

content/3/7/3721_06.jpg

 

SAS drives use a slightly different data and power connector that provides 6Gbps to and from the drive.

 

content/3/7/3721_07.jpg

 

When OCZ Technology sent us their SF-1500 controlled drive last January it included a single super capacitor and we see the same here with the SMART Modular XceedIOPS. Also on this side of the drive is an Emulex bridge chip.

 

content/3/7/3721_08.jpg

 

On this side we see the SandForce SF-1500 controller and another super capacitor. At this time I'm not sure if the reason for two capacitors is due to the drive being 200GB, or if SMART will do this for all of their XceedIOPS drives.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!
loading